MINUTES OF THE 138TH ANNUAL MEETING OF THE CONGREGATION THE FOURTH PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH OF CHICAGO **February 10, 2008**

The 138th Annual Meeting of the Congregation of the Fourth Presbyterian Church was convened by the Moderator, the Rev. Dr. John Buchanan, at 12:15 p.m. on Sunday, February 10, 2008 in the sanctuary of the Fourth Presbyterian Church. The Reverend John Boyle opened the meeting with prayer.

Report of the Clerk of Session

Martin Sherrod, Clerk of Session, determined that a quorum was present.

Mr. Sherrod announced that the minutes of the 137th Annual Meeting of the Congregation, held on February 11, 2007, were available for review in several locations throughout the church and in the church office. A motion was made, seconded and adopted to approve the minutes of the 137th Annual Congregational Meeting of Fourth Presbyterian Church of Chicago.

Mr. Sherrod expressed his gratitude to John and Sue Buchanan, to Dana Ferguson and the staff for the important roles they play in the life of Fourth Presbyterian Church.

The Moderator called on Elder Beth Davis, Chair of the Nominating Committee, to present the committee's report.

Nominating Committee Report

Ms. Davis summarized the committee's process and introduced and thanked committee members for their service: Alison Chisolm, Juli Crabtree, Lou DiCerbo, Carol Gates, Kerry Grady, Mark Nelson, Don Outlaw, Mary Schaafsma, Joyce Sigmon and staff, Tom Rook.

Ms. Davis presented the following candidates for election as Elders:

Class of 2011

LaDonna Black **Gregory Lewis** Donald (Don) Coe Ross Lober Debbie Frisch Llani O'Connor Lisa Garay Alison Thomas Jerry Johnson Paul Vogel Carl Leigh

Stephanette Walker

Class of 2009

Jeremiah (Jeremy) Lewis (youth)

The Moderator asked for nominations from the floor. There being none, a motion was made, seconded and adopted to elect the candidates as Elders.

Ms. Davis presented the slate of candidates for election to the Board of Deacons:

Class of 2011

Mark Agerton Annette Bacon Barbara Anderson Rick Bogaard

Judith (Judi) BraskampHeather MajorEloise FosterZoa NormanLouise GramBrad PierceMichael HiresGeorge SmithJudah HowardJean SweerKurtis (Kurt) KossenDouglas Trapasso

Class of 2009

Chelsea Bumpus (youth)

Jeffrey (Jeff) Maguire (youth)

The Moderator asked for nominations from the floor. There being none, a motion was made, seconded and **approved** to elect the candidates to the Board of Deacons.

Ms. Davis presented the following candidates to represent the congregation as members-at-large of the 2008 Nominating Committee:

Gerald (Gerry) Bloomer Arnold (Arnie) Lenters

Martha Brown Carol Lobbes Rita Bennett Sue Lopatka

Judith (Judy) Kerch

The Moderator asked for nominations from the floor. There being none, a motion was made, seconded and **approved** to elect the members-at-large of the 2008 Nominating Committee.

The Moderator welcomed all candidates elected to their offices for the coming term.

Ms. Davis recognized the following members whose nomination to the Chicago Lights Board of Directors will be presented to the Session for election:

Jean Ban Jay Frey Larry McCracken

Recognition of the Chicago Lights Board

The Moderator called on Beth Truett, Executive Director of Chicago Lights, who recognized the efforts of outgoing Board members Marilynn Cason and Ken Ohr.

The Moderator asked for a motion to recess the Meeting of the Congregation to convene a meeting of the Corporation. A motion was made, seconded, and **approved.**

Meeting of the Corporation

Joan Hall, President of the Board of Trustees and the Corporation, convened the meeting of the Corporation. A motion to approve the minutes of the annual meeting of the corporation held on February 12, 2007 was made, seconded, and **approved.** Church Treasurer Marilee Hopkins reviewed the 2007 financial report and 2008 budget. Ms. Hall thanked Ms. Hopkins for her ongoing oversight of church finances; Bob Doak, who served as Interim Director of Business Administrator during the year; and the current Director of Business Administration, Rob Holben.

Elder Beth Davis was invited to report on behalf of the Nominating Committee and placed in nomination the following persons for the <u>Board of Trustees</u>:

Class of 2011
John Berghoff
David Crawford
Melanie Ehrhart
Douglas (Doug) Grissom

Roger Nelson Elizabeth (Liz) Patterson Sara Pfaff

Ms. Hall asked for nominations from the floor. There being none, a motion to close the nominations and elect the present slate was made, seconded, and **adopted**.

Ms. Hall requested congregational approval of an amendment to the church's bylaws to include indemnification of officers, directors, trustees, employees and agents of the church. A summary of the background, rationale, and specific wording of the amendment was distributed, a record copy of which is on file in the Pastors' Office. It was moved, seconded, and **approved** to amend the bylaws to include the indemnification language.

Ms. Hall asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting of the Corporation and reconvene the meeting of the Congregation. A motion was made, seconded, and **adopted.** The meeting of the Corporation was adjourned.

Moderator John Buchanan reconvened the meeting of the Congregation of Fourth Presbyterian Church, and called on Elder David Crawford for a report on Project Light.

Report on Project Light

Mr. Crawford thanked the Project Light Leadership Team, church officers and staff for their patient, diligent work during the past year. The \$1 million pledge to McCormick Theological Seminary was fulfilled, sanctuary renovations were completed and the Chicago Avenue Garden flourished. Options for expansion on Michigan Avenue continue to be explored.

Report on the Personnel Committee

Elder Arlene Faulk noted staff transitions and anniversaries, and recognized the work of committee members throughout the year. Ms. Faulk expressed particular thanks to John Buchanan and Dana Ferguson for their leadership and to the House Staff for their important attention to the daily activities at the church.

Pastor's Report

Moderator Buchanan thanked the staff, officers and members of the congregation for making what happens at the church and in what we do in the world a cause for joy and pride. He referenced a number of programs and initiatives during the year and highlighted in the 2007 Annual Report. Moderator Buchanan stated he was particularly grateful for the privilege of working with the Rev. Dana Ferguson, noting her graceful leadership, attention to administrative detail, compelling personal faith and love for Fourth Presbyterian Church.

The Moderator asked for any comments, questions, unfinished or new business. There being none, a motion was made, seconded and **adopted** to adjourn the meeting, which was closed at 1:10 p.m. with the singing of "Startle Us, God" and with prayer led by the Rev. Dana Ferguson.

Respectfully submitted,

Martin Sherrod, Clerk of Session

Varter Sherros

John Buchanan, Moderator

John Buchanan